Torino 2020 - 48th EG Annual Conference

INFORMATION RE. SUSPENSION OF 48th ANNUAL CONFERENCE:

 

http://www.europeangroup.org/?q=node/187

 

EUROPEAN GROUP FOR THE STUDY OF DEVIANCE AND SOCIAL CONTROL

48th ANNUAL CONFERENCE

Campus Luigi Einaudi, Torino, Italy, 2-5 September 2020

Dynamics of harm and social control in the transformation of capitalism

 

Call for Papers 

Over past decades, capitalism has undergone transformations that have posed radical challenges for critical thinking. From the harms of ‘old’ capitalism to its most recent transformations, the world is experiencing new forms of exploitation, contradictions and challenges. Political movements around ethical consumption and green capitalism increasingly overshadow the fundamental problems at the heart of corporate capital: exploitation of human and natural resources, inequality and state-corporate expansionism.

Undoubtedly, one of the most pressing contemporary issues is the rise of surveillance capitalism, which increasingly invades our daily lives and shapes our subjectivities (individually and collectively). The transformations of new surveillance capitalism are affecting people intersectionally, relating to class, religion, race, gender, economic status, educational attainment, and countries where people live. Our choices and decisions (from what we eat to whom we date!), risk creating new and effective tools for further exploitation and social control. This is particularly true for the ways we communicate, move and experience in, for example, the ‘smart city’ and ‘smart university’.

In addition, the persistent processes of privatisation and the role played by corporates in the management of criminal justice (including the military/prison industrial complex, Artificial Intelligence, policing, and border control technologies) has radically modified the idea of justice, social inclusion and punishment as a prerogative of the state and state-corporate alliances. In this scenario, white collar and corporate crimes evolve toward new domains and forms of social harm, which themselves paradoxically remain areas of deregulation and lenient punishment. Finally, the transformation of capitalism and white-collar crimes have also promoted new populisms, which have deployed nuanced criminal justice toolkits to control, repress and demonise many forms of political opposition, resistance and dissent.

We invite scholars, experts and activists to reflect on the transformations of contemporary capitalism, its impact and consequences it may have in contributing to – and exacerbating - harm and social control.

 

 

Crimes of the Powerful

 Samantha Fletcher - samantha.fletcher@mmu.ac.uk

 Rosalba Altopiedi - rosalba.altopiedi@uniupo.it

 

 

 

- Examinations of the state-corporate relationship.

- Exposing and challenging structural relations of inequality.

- Climate and environmental emergencies and catastrophe.

-The question(s) of resistance, contestation and justice.

 

 

 Fear & Looting in the Periphery:

Approaching global crime and harm in (and from) the south(s)

 Dani Jiménez - djf@unizar.es

Ale Forero - aleforero@ub.edu

Rita Faria - rfaria@direito.up.pt

 Daniela Ronco - daniela.ronco@unito.it

 

 

 

 - Green capitalism in the south? Criminal implications and (social) distribution of environmental (social) harm.

- The University of the South in globalization: scientific quality criteria and precarity.

- Technification, digitalization and government in the cities of the 21st century: social justice implications in the south.

- Anticolonialism and anticapitalism, struggles across the Global Periphery.

 

 

 Policing & Security

 Georgios Papanicolaou - g.papanicolaou@tees.ac.uk

Valeria Ferraris - valeria.ferraris@unito.it

 

 

- New means and tactics in the police control.

- Experiences of the policed in the streets.

- Comparative accounts of the policing of protest.

- Resisting repression in the streets: movements fighting back.

- Mass protest and police repression from a historical perspective.

- Mass protest and the security industrial complex.

 

Prison, Punishment & Detention

 Simone Santorso - Simone.santorso18@gmail.com

 Perla Allegri - perla.allegri@unito.it

 

 

- Technology within and beyond the bars: redefining punishment.

- The privatisation of criminal justice: new perspective on social control and social harm.

- Actuarial justice, big data and the new frontiers of criminalization.

- Surveillance and human mobility: new perspective on migrant detention and border control.

- New and old gendered harm behind the bars.

- Penal populism, penal fare and the repressive state.

- Prison industrial complex and prison abolition.

 

 

 

 Social Harm/ Zemiology

 Christina Pantazis - C.Pantazis@bristol.ac.uk

Simon Pemberton - S.Pemberton.1@bham.ac.uk

 Michele Miravalle - michele.miravalle@unito.it

 

 

 

Social harm and neo-liberal policies, developments, and practices.

- Financial crisis, recession and austerity and social harm.

- Poverty, inequality and social injustice.

- Social harms relating to classism, sexism, heterosexuality, racism, etc. 

- Social harms arising from public/social policy.

 

 

Historical, Philosophical and Artistic approaches

on the study on deviance and social control

 Stratos Georgoulas - s.georgoulas@soc.aegean.gr

Giovanni Torrente - giovanni.torrente@unito.it

 

 

 

 

- History of crime and social control.

- Criminological theory.

- Crime in arts and literature.

 

Streams

The call for papers is organized under streams pertaining to the titles of the European Group’s Working Groups, and suggests a series of key themes for that working group in relation to the overarching conference theme. We do, however, also welcome papers, pre-arranged panel and roundtable that explore other critical trajectories pertaining to the wider intersections of the overarching conference theme and the concern(s) of the working groups. If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact one of the stream coordinators. 

Please submit a short abstract of150-300 wordswith 3 keywords to the relevant stream coordinator by... [deadline to be revised in June 2020].

 Conference Coordinator team: 

Perla Allegri; Rosalba Altopiedi; Valeria Ferraris; Michele Miravalle; Daniela Ronco; Giovanni Torrente; Alvise Sbraccia; Simone Santorso.